La Tierra y Bicicleta: The Earth and Bicycle

I love you

What to do?

leave a comment »

I‘m stuck. I really want the Cinelli Vigorelli that I described on post #1. The issue I’m having is that I have always wanted to do long distance touring by bicycle. In the summer of 2010 I’d like to cycle Portland to San Francisco via the Pacific Coast Highway. This would be impossible to do on the Cinelli because it is the wrong bike for the task :-( For such a ride, I’d need a touring bicycle designed to carry a heavy load (tent, food, supplies).

I’m thinking about saving for the following instead of the Cinelli Vigorelli:

1) Surly Long Haul Trucker $1095

2) Kona Sutra $1199

What should I do? Right now I’m leaning towards picking up a touring bike —,  so the Cinelli would be on hold until a further date. There are two benefits to picking up a touring bike:  I would have the correct bicycle for a trip I have wanted to do for a number of years and the bike is about $1000 cheaper than the Cinelli. This extra cash would mean I wouldn’t be suffering nearly as bad in terms of food (my goal was to eat frozen pizza and top ramen for 4 months to get the Cinelli).

Written by latierraybicicleta

November 16, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Leave a Reply

